What do the Hillsborough County Commission and baseball have in common?

 

Ken Hagan

Ken Hagan

If you guessed Ken Hagan than you’re right! At this morning’s Hillsborough County Commissioner’s meeting, board member Mark Sharpe presented Ken Hagan with a token of appreciation for his leadership, integrity and excellent service over the last year. Hagan, who played baseball at the University of Florida and has played and loved baseball most of his life, was “blown away” by the gesture and seemed genuinely very honored to be receiving the recognition. Hagan was given a Louisville slugger baseball bat signed by each of his fellow commissioners. A few of the members said their bit of praise for Hagan, who just won another term on the county commission. Rose Ferlita, who is leaving the board at the end of her term to run for the Mayor of Tampa, arrived late but was quick to chime in with her appreciation and confidence in Hagan.

 

As the meeting continued, I found it a little hard to follow the Robert’s Rules of Order and I got distracted by my own thoughts. I started thinking more about the gesture of Hagan’s gift. A lot of politics these days, as well as politicians, seem to be dragged through the mud for one thing or another. Believe me, I understand that people do dishonest and manipulative things, but it was almost refreshing to see someone rewarded for doing good. With so much corruption in politics, it easy to forget that there are people who use their authority for good and after three years of loyal service, it was nice to see support and appreciation for someone who does their job with respect and integrity.

Which brings me to my next point and my basis for comparison. The last county commissioner’s meeting I went to was in March, when Pat Bean and Renee Lee were both suspended with pay pending an FDLE investigation into the sketchy raises she gave to herself and others last year. Once I started thinking about it, I started to compare the two. Hagan has served three years on the Board of County Commissioners and is being recognized for good, while Bean served 33 years in government and dragged her reputation and career through the mud with dirty deeds.

 


Leave a comment